Cities

What is Urban Dialogues?

Urban Dialogues creates spaces for dialogues between urban experts, scientists, practitioners and relevant actors from businesses and industry. Here, they come together to identify and analyse current challenges in urbanisation and to develop innovative solutions together. The active involvement of local actors enables a direct implementation of the results. The programme draws on Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft’s existing expertise in urbanisation issues.

Why Urban Dialogues?

Cities are developed according to their spatial conditions and financial realities. Different visions of the future as well as uncertainties are also shaping this process. All over the world, cities are growing rapidly, especially in Africa, whose urban development is currently the focus of our dialogues. Urban Dialogues aims at highlighting the relevance of the urban dimension in the development of international cooperation and at developing solutions to current challenges.

In this context, we consider the co-design of urbanisation processes as a contribution to fostering a free and open society which enables urban dwellers of today and tomorrow to participate socially and economically in the urban life of the metropolises of the future. 

How does Urban Dialogues work?

Urban Dialogues develops solutions for the urgent urban issues of our times and aims to strengthen their implementation and cooperation.
In 2018 and 2019, Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft hosted three Urban Africa Roundtables. These events focused on the political frameworks for German-African cooperation with regard to urbanisation. Experts from sub-Saharan Africa, international scientists and advisors from different areas exchanged their experiences. In parallel workshops, they worked on issues like urban employment development or integrated policymaking. For the future, different event formats are planned with the aim to develop co-creative approaches.

Upcoming Activities in our Project Area „Cities“

This website uses cookies in order to improve user experience. If you close this box or continue browsing, we will assume you agree with this. For more information about the cookies we use or to find out how you can disable cookies, click here.

Stadt

Was ist Urban Dialogues?

Urban Dialogues schafft Dialogräume für urbane Expertise: Fachleute aus Wissenschaft und Praxis sowie relevante Akteure aus der Wirtschaft kommen hier zusammen, um gemeinsam aktuelle Herausforderungen von Urbanisierung zu identifizieren, zu analysieren und innovative Lösungsansätze zu erarbeiten. Die aktive Einbeziehung von lokalen Akteuren, ermöglicht eine direkte Umsetzung von Ergebnissen. Das Programm baut auf die bestehende Expertise der Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft zum Thema Urbanisierung auf.

Warum Urban Dialogues?

Städte werden ausgehend von den räumlichen Gegebenheiten und entsprechend der verfügbaren Mittel gestaltet. Ebenso wird die städtische Entwicklung durch Visionen für die Zukunft beeinflusst und durch Unsicherheiten geprägt.

Weltweit wachsen Städte rasant - vor allem auf dem Kontinent Afrika, dessen städtische Entwicklung derzeit im Fokus unserer Dialoge steht. Urban Dialogues hat zum zentralen Ziel, auf die Relevanz der städtischen Dimension bei der Gestaltung der internationalen Zusammenarbeit hinzuweisen und in Kooperationen mit Experten Lösungen zu aktuellen Herausforderungen zu erarbeiten.

Urbanisierungsprozesse mitzugestalten steht dabei im Kontext der Förderung einer freien und offenen Gesellschaft, die heutigen und zukünftigen Stadtbewohnern die soziale und ökonomische Teilhabe am Leben in den wachsenden Metropolen nachhaltig ermöglicht.

Wie arbeitet Urban Dialogues?

Urban Dialogues erarbeitet Lösungen zu den drängenden städtischen Themen unserer Zeit und möchte dabei vor allem die Umsetzung und Kooperationen stärken.
In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 veranstaltete die Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft bereits drei Urban Age Africa Roundtables. Hier standen die politischen Rahmenbedingungen deutsch-afrikanischer Zusammenarbeit mit Fokus auf Urbanisierung im Mittelpunkt. Fachleute aus dem subsaharischen Afrika, aus der internationalen Wissenschaft sowie Beraterinnen und Berater aus verschiedenen Bereichen tauschten ihre Erfahrungen aus und bearbeiteten in parallelen Workshops Themen wie städtische Arbeitsmarktentwicklung, finanzielle Infrastrukturen und integrierte Politikgestaltung. Auch für die Zukunft sind unterschiedliche Veranstaltungsformate geplant, um in ko-kreativen Prozessen neue Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln.

Aktuelle Aktivitäten im Arbeitsfeld „Stadt“

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit zu verbessern. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Website stimmen Sie dem zu. Weitere Infos zu Cookies und deren Deaktivierung finden Sie hier.